Chicken Shawarma

Shawarma is one of my favourite foods but apparently it is not so good for you. Some might claim it’s worse than McDonald’s. So I clearly need a way around this.

Recipe from Gimme Delicious – click here for method and directions. Alterations for the Lyme Diet in italics.

2 chicken thighs boneless, skinless ( about ½ lb) (feel free to use whatever chicken you like – I, more often than not, use boneless & skinless breasts)
1 tsp lemon juice (Santa Cruz organic or fresh lemon)
1 small garlic clove, minced
1 tsp ground coriander
1 tsp ground cumin
¼ tsp ground cardamom
¼ tsp smoked paprika
¼ tsp sea salt
¼ tsp black pepper
1 tsp avocado oil

As per my method, make extra of the spice mix and throw it in a jar for later. Short cuts! I would eat this with rice and/or salad. I have messed around with tahini dressing but I haven’t found one I really like yet. My favourite so far would just be olive oil, lemon, garlic and salt and pepper for dressing. You can also use hummus, which is right on with the shawarma theme.

Leave a Reply

