Kalamata Olive Hummus

This is the recipe that my friend Luc asks me about every time I see him. I gave some to him once and it is evidently forever burned in his brain.

Recipe from Vegan in the Freezer- click me for method and directions. My alterations are in italics.

15 ounces chickpeas can, drained (I buy dried chickpeas. Cheaper and I think they taste significantly different and better. I soak them in water during the day and then put them in the crockpot overnight (low for 8 hours) to cook them. This would be about 3/4 cup dried beans. But I do a big batch up all at once and freeze them.). 
1/2 cup kalamata olives rinsed and pitted, you can also find them already pitted
1/4 cup lemon juice fresh (Santa Cruz organic or fresh lemons – this would be about a lemon and a half’s worth of juice)
1/4 cup tahini (you can find this in “ethnic” or “world” food sections of health food stores)
2 cloves garlic peeled
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1/4 teaspoon sea salt
dash black pepper
2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil, or as much as it needs for your desired consistency

Throw it all in the food processor.

This can be frozen!

Leave a comment